

PRESS RELEASE

PACJA Awards Journalists Reporting on The Environment and Climate Change in Africa

Abidjan, 31 August 2024 - The Pan African Climate Justice Alliance (PACJA) has honored outstanding journalists reporting on environmental and climate change issues in Africa. The award ceremony occurred in Abidjan, alongside the 12th Conference on Climate Change and Development in Africa (CCDA-XII).

This year's theme was "Advancing Accountability for Adaptation Finance for Enhanced Resilience, Climate Justice, and Equity." 478 journalists submitted entries, with 16 winners selected across six categories.

The categories for submissions included Print Media, Broadcast Media, Digital Activism, Investigative Reporting, Coverage of Local Climate Change Issues, and Opinion/Commentary.

During the gala night, Carlton Cofie, the Chief Judge, praised the exceptional quality of the entries and highlighted the challenge of selecting the winners due to the high level of competition. He also mentioned that future competitions would be enhanced, with journalists receiving additional training in climate change and environmental issues.

Now in its 8th edition, the ACCER Awards were first launched in 2013. Dr. Mithika Mwenda, Executive Director of PACJA, emphasized the strategic role of the media in advancing and promoting climate justice advocacy across Africa and beyond.

The African Climate Change and Environmental Reporting (ACCER) Awards, held biennially since 2013, aim to recognize and encourage exceptional journalists and media networks. These awards celebrate those who effectively use their skills, reach, and influence to simplify complex environmental and scientific discussions, raising awareness of how these issues impact people's lives, societies, economies, and the planet's health.

Below is a list of the winners of the 8th ACCER Awards.

CATEGORY	RANK	NAME	COUNTRY	MEDIA
Investigative	Winner	Ojok James Onon &	Uganda	Zam Magazine Africa
Reporting		Uchenna Igwe	Nigeria	
	Runner -up	Kuessie Nze Romulus	Cameron	Vitrine du Cameron
		Dorval		
Digital	Winner	Alex Taremwa	Uganda	Last Drop Africa
activists	Runner -up	M. Ernest Agbota	Benin	
Print Media	Winner	Temwani Mgunda	Malawi	Dialogue Earth
	Runner -up	Ouedraogo Patinema Oumar	Burkina Faso	Les Editions Sidwaya
	l		l	
Opinion/	Winner	Jasmine Atieno Odera	Kenya	Mediamax Networks
Commentary				Limited-People Daily
				Newspaper
	Runner -up	Leleti Jassor	Kenya	National media Group
Data	Winner	Arthur Bizimana &	Burundi	www.greenafia.com et
Journalism		Mukulu Vulotwa	Congo DR	https://www.ibihe.org
5		Hervé	Congo Di	
	Runner -up		Burkina Faso	
	Runner -up	Hervé	C	Le Point Afrique
	Runner -up	Hervé Bernard KABORÉ	C	
	Runner -up	Hervé Bernard KABORÉ alias Lassane Oumar	C	
Broadcast Media	Runner -up Winner	Hervé Bernard KABORÉ alias Lassane Oumar	C	
Broadcast	Winner	Hervé Bernard KABORÉ alias Lassane Oumar TRAORÉ	Burkina Faso	Le Point Afrique
Broadcast		Hervé Bernard KABORÉ alias Lassane Oumar TRAORÉ Sela Nestor	Burkina Faso Benin	Le Point Afrique Radio Parakou
Broadcast	Winner Runner -up	Hervé Bernard KABORÉ alias Lassane Oumar TRAORÉ Sela Nestor Kpokame Kouadio Hermann	Burkina Faso Benin Benin	Le Point Afrique Radio Parakou SRTB (Societe De
Broadcast Media Coverage of	Winner	Hervé Bernard KABORÉ alias Lassane Oumar TRAORÉ Sela Nestor Kpokame Kouadio	Burkina Faso Benin	Le Point Afrique Radio Parakou SRTB (Societe De Radio Et Television Du Benin) INTER PRESS
Broadcast Media Coverage of Local Climate	Winner Runner -up	Hervé Bernard KABORÉ alias Lassane Oumar TRAORÉ Sela Nestor Kpokame Kouadio Hermann	Burkina Faso Benin Benin	Le Point Afrique Radio Parakou SRTB (Societe De Radio Et Television Du Benin)
Broadcast Media Coverage of Local Climate Change	Winner Runner -up Winner	Hervé Bernard KABORÉ alias Lassane Oumar TRAORÉ Sela Nestor Kpokame Kouadio Hermann Wambi Michael	Burkina Faso Benin Benin UGANDA	Le Point Afrique Radio Parakou SRTB (Societe De Radio Et Television Du Benin) INTER PRESS SERVICE
Broadcast Media Coverage of Local Climate	Winner Runner -up	Hervé Bernard KABORÉ alias Lassane Oumar TRAORÉ Sela Nestor Kpokame Kouadio Hermann	Burkina Faso Benin Benin	Le Point Afrique Radio Parakou SRTB (Societe De Radio Et Television Du Benin) INTER PRESS SERVICE NEWS CENTRAL
Broadcast Media Coverage of Local Climate Change	Winner Runner -up Winner	Hervé Bernard KABORÉ alias Lassane Oumar TRAORÉ Sela Nestor Kpokame Kouadio Hermann Wambi Michael	Burkina Faso Benin Benin UGANDA	Le Point Afrique Radio Parakou SRTB (Societe De Radio Et Television Du Benin) INTER PRESS SERVICE

For more information and media inquiries please contact, Fidele NIYIGABA, Communications and Knowledge Management Manager, PACJA; Email: <u>fidele.niyigaba@pacja.org</u>; +254743236888